Wexford Election Results – 2014

The results of the 2014 Wexford Local Election are in. Below is a list of the candidates who have been elected to Wexford County Council, categorized by district.


All ten seats in the Wexford district have been filled.

  • Ger Carthy (Independent)
  • Anthony Kelly (SF)
  • George Lawlor (Labour)
  • Tony Dempsey (FF)
  • Jim Moore (FG)
  • Fergie Kehoe (FF)
  • Frank Staples (FG)
  • Mick Roche (SF)
  • David Hynes (Independent)
  • Deirdre Wadding (People Before Profit)


All eight seats in the Gorey district have been filled.

  • Malcolm Byrne (FF)
  • Fionntan O’ Suilleabhain (SF)
  • Robert Ireton (Labour)
  • Mary Farrell (Independent)
  • Joe Sullivan (FF)
  • Pip Breen (FF)
  • John Hegarty (FG)
  • Anthony Donohoe (FG)


All eight seats in the Enniscorthy district have been filled.

  • James Browne (FF)
  • Johnny Mythen (SF)
  • Barbara-Anne Murphy (FF)
  • Kathleen Codd Nolan (FG)
  • Keith Doyle (FF)
  • Paddy Kavanagh (FG)
  • John O’Rourke (Independent)
  • Oliver Walsh (FG)

New Ross

All eight seats in the New Ross district have been filled:

  • Martin Murphy (Independent)
  • Michael Sheehan (FF)
  • Michael Whelan (FF)
  • Oisin O’ Connell (SF)
  • Larry O’ Brien (FG)
  • John Fleming (FF)
  • Willie Fitzharris (FG)
  • Anthony Connick (Independent)

Overall Party Count

  • Fianna Fail: 11
  • Fine Gael: 9
  • Other / Independents: 7
  • Sinn Fein: 5
  • Labour: 2
Wexford Local Election Count

Count gets under way at the Wexford count centre. Picture by @EmmaNolan13 on Twitter.

Talking Points / Summary

  • The biggest political party in the Wexford County Council is Fianna Fail, with eleven seats.
  • Independent candidates did particularly well.
  • The Labour Party bore the brunt of an angry electorate, with a number of candidates conceding defeat after the first count. Only two Labour candidates were successful in their bid: Wexford Mayor George Lawlor and Gorey candidate┬áRobert Ireton. Labour’s performance throughout Ireland has left the leadership on shaky ground, with younger members calling out for a change.
  • Ger Carthy (Independent) topped the poll in Wexford. He is the son of the late Leo Carthy, who served as a councillor in Wexford for 49 years.
  • Wexford hurling legend Martin Storey (Labour) failed to get elected in Enniscorthy.
  • A recount was called in New Ross on Sunday 25/05/14 at 4pm. The recount did not result in any significant changes and the count resumed as normal at around 11pm.
  • Jackser Owens (Independent) failed in his bid to get elected in Enniscorthy.
  • People Before Profit candidate┬áDeirdre Wadding was elected in Wexford on the 16th count.
  • All five Sinn Fein candidates were elected in Wexford.
  • Sean Connick’s brother Anthony Connick (Independent) was elected in New Ross.

Facebook Comments