I’ve seen people ask this question a lot. So much so, in fact, that I decided to write a short article about it.
Unfortunately, there is no way to cancel a location request on Snapchat.
The main issue here is that location requests are sent via the app’s messaging system.
Once you click on the “Request [insert name]’s Location” button, this request will be sent as a message:
This request will appear in the chat between you and the person who you sent it to. As a result, there is no way to undo it. Just like there is no way to undo a snap or a message that you’ve sent.
Although you can delete the chat, this only removes it from your end. Not theirs. In other words, they will still be able to see it.
From their perspective, the request will look like this:
This is what it will look like in their chat.
My advice on this is that you should come up with an excuse about how you pressed it by mistake. As you already know, Snapchat does not ask you if you want to confirm the request. Therefore, it is pretty easy to click on this button by accident.
Come up with an excuse.
What you need is an excuse for why you were looking at their Snapchat profile in the first place.
Feel free to use one of the following:
- Sorry! I was renaming all of my friends on Snapchat to their full names when I hit the button by mistake. Fat fingers, lol.
- I was checking everyone’s scores and I hit the location button by accident. That’s the second time I’ve done this today. Everyone must think I’m stalking them.
- Sorry! I was looking at everyone’s charms to see who I share a star sign with and I pressed the button by mistake!
- Sorry! I was meant to request someone else’s location that has the same name as you! You can just ignore that!
Choose the best excuse for your situation! Good luck!