In this guide, I will show you how to view a list of the people that you’ve previously unfollowed on Facebook. As you probably already know, this is an extremely useful feature, as it allows you to silently remove annoying friends from your News Feed. It’s basically a mute button without the drama of having to unfriend them.
However, at some stage, you might want to review a list of the people that you’ve banished to the Unfollowed List.
PS: I wrote this guide in 2020. If anything changes, be sure to post a comment in the comment section below so that others can see it!
Step 1. Go into your Facebook settings.
Start by going into the Settings & Privacy section in your Facebook app. This can be found in the 3-line “hamburger menu” located in the top right-hand corner of your app.
Step 2. Find the section called “News Feed Settings”
Next, you will need to scroll down until you find the section labelled “News Feed Settings”:
Once you have found the “News Feed Settings” section, click on the option labelled “News Feed Preferences.”
Step 3. Reconnect with people you unfollowed.
Once you are inside the News Feed Preferences menu, you should see an option called Reconnect with people you unfollowed. At the time of writing, this particular option had a pink PLUS label beside it:
Step 4. View your unfollowed list.
Once you have clicked on the option above, you will be shown a complete list of the people you have unfollowed in the past. I won’t show a screenshot of mine because it has about 20 people on it.
This list kind of surprised me, to be honest – as it contained people that I forgot even existed! Some of them were muted for their annoying sharing habits. Others were muted because I didn’t really know them that well and wasn’t interested in seeing updates about their life.
Desktop website version.
By the way: If you are using the Facebook website on a desktop PC, the options are pretty much the same. In fact, there are actually less clicks involved.
In the options menu in the top right-hand corner of the website, you will find a link called News Feed Preferences. This link is located just above the Log Out link:
If you click on that link, you will be shown a Preferences pop-up. This pop-up menu will contain an option called Reconnect with people and groups you unfollowed.
Hopefully, this guide helped!