Tutorial: Block somebody from seeing your Snapchat story.

In some cases, you might want to prevent certain people from being able to view your Snapchat story. There are various reasons that you might want to do this. You might not want them to know that you’ve active on Snapchat or you might not want them to see what you’ve been up to.

Thankfully, Snapchat allows you to control what friends can view your story. Simply follow the steps below and you will be able to block certain people from seeing what you’ve been up to.

Step One: Go to your settings.

To access your Snapchat settings, simply click on the ghost icon in the top left-hand corner of the app:

snapchat settings

Note that this ghost icon was situated in the center before Snapchat’s 2017 update.

Once you’ve clicked on the ghost icon, a page displaying your Snapchat profile will appear. At the top right-hand corner, you will see the settings “cog” icon. Click on this:

snapchat settings menu

Step Two. “Who can view my story.”

In the settings menu, under the “Who can…” heading, you will find an option called “View My Story”. By default, this is set to “Friends”. Select this option:

Snapchat Story

Step Three. Select “Custom”.

Once you’ve clicked on “View My Story”, another sub-menu will appear.

This has three options:

  • Everyone: Everyone, including non-friends can view your Snapchat story.
  • My Friends: Only your friends can view your story (this is the default option).
  • Custom: Allows you to choose which friends you want to block from seeing your story.

Obviously, we want to click on Custom:

snapchat story custom

Step Four. Select the friends that you want to block.

After clicking on Custom, you will be brought to the “Stories Privacy” page. This page allows you “block friends from seeing your story.”

stories privacy snapchat

To block a friend, simply click on their name and a red X should appear to the right. Once you’ve selected the friend in question, simply hit the back button until you’ve returned to the main Snapchat page.

And that’s it! This person will no longer be able to view your story!

Comments

comments