How to block someone from viewing your Instagram story.

This is a guide on how to block someone from viewing your Instagram story. This feature can be useful if you want to “hide” your stories from certain people. For example, your boss, your work mates or even certain family members.

Step 1 – Go to your Instagram settings.

Firstly, you will need to click on the settings icon in the top right-hand corner. This icon is located above your Instagram profile.

The settings icon on Instagram.

Click on the “three lines”, aka the “hamburger menu”.

Once you have done that, a menu will appear on the right. At the bottom of this menu, you will find an option called “Settings”.

The settings option on Instagram

Click on the “Settings” option at the bottom.

Step 2 – Go into the Privacy section.

Once your Instagram “Settings” page has loaded, you will need to click on the “Privacy” option.

The Privacy option

At the time of writing, the “Privacy” option was located underneath “Notifications”.

After that, you will need to click on the “Story” option. This can be found in the “Interactions” section.

Story privacy settings on Instagram

The “Interactions” section contains an option called “Story”, which allows you to control who sees your Instagram stories.

At this stage, the “Story” screen will appear. This section allows you to hide your story from certain people and select “Close Friends”. In addition, it also allows you to control who can reply to your stories and whether they can be shared or not.

However, in our case, we want to prevent someone from being able to see our stories. Therefore, we will need to click on the “Hide Story From” option.

Instagram - Hide Story From

“Hide your story and live videos from specific people.”

Step 3 – Select the person you want to hide your story from.

At this stage, you will be able to select which followers you want to hide your stories from.

Select the follower or followers in question. A blue tick will appear beside their name once you have selected them.

As you can see in the screenshot above, I selected one of my followers by clicking on the checkbox beside their name.

Finally, in order to apply this change, we will need to click on the arrow in the top left-hand corner.

Hide Story From

Click on the arrow beside “Hide Story From” in order to save your changes. Pressing the back button on your phone will discard your changes.

Once you have selected the person in question and saved your changes, you will notice that Instagram displays how many people are blocked from seeing your story.

Hide Story From

In this case, only 1 person is blocked from seeing my story.

And that’s it! From now on, these people will no longer be able to view your stories. In fact, they won’t even know that you have uploaded one.

Will someone find out if I have hidden my Instagram stories from them?

No. Instagram will not notify other people if you block them from seeing your stories. However, they could potentially figure it out if someone else mentions it.

For example:

“Did you see Lisa’s story?”
“What? No.”
“Yea, she uploaded a photo of her new car.”
“It’s not showing anything for me?”
“OMG, she must have blocked you from her story!”

If you are going to hide your stories from someone, then you will need to make sure that their close friends or relatives are also blocked. That way, there is less of a possibility that they will find out.

Related guides.

Other guides that you might find helpful:

Facebook Comments