What happens if you screenshot a Snapchat profile?

Recently, Snapchat changed their app so that it sends you a notification whenever somebody on your friend list takes a screenshot of your Snapchat profile. As a result, if you screenshot one of your friend’s profiles, then they will receive a push notification.

In fact, the app actually warns you about this feature when you click onto a profile:

Friendships are Private – Screenshotting friendship profiles will send a notification – just like with Snaps.

My guess is that this warning has saved a number of people from having an embarrassing conversation!

What does the notification say?

When you screenshot a friend’s Snapchat profile, they will receive the following push notification:

Snapchat Screenshot Notification

An image showing what the “screenshot” notification looks like when the other person receives it.

When the other person clicks on this notification, they will be brought into the chat feature. In the chat, it will say something like the following:

Liam Bloggs took a screenshot of friendship profile!

OK. Why did they add this?

Snapchat introduced this feature because the friendship profile can contain a lot of private information. For example: Images that are saved in the chat will appear on this profile as thumbnail images in a section called Saved In Chat. Without the notification, a sneaky person would be able to screenshot chat images without the other person knowing about it.

This is the most likely reason. Personally, I doubt it has anything to do with the person’s Snap Map location showing on their profile. I say this because Snapchat does not seem to send notifications when you screenshot the Snap Map.

Facebook Comments