Lately, certain people have been making the claim that Snapchat users will receive a notification if you check their profile or look at their Snap score.
Over the past few weeks, I have come across a number of TikTok videos that have been making these “scary” claims.
These videos tend to draw hundreds of comments from panicked girls who have been using the Snapchat score system to keep track of their boyfriend’s activities. They also tend to scare the crap out of people who have been using the score system to check whether their crush is ignoring them or not.
The comments on the videos are pretty comical. “My life is basically over”, came the response from one girl. Another wrote, “I’m done if this is true.”
Fortunately for them, this is currently not the case.
Snapchat users cannot view a list of the people who have viewed their profile. They also don’t get a notification if someone looks at their profile or score. I know because I personally tested this on the latest version of the app.
The truth is: A user will only receive a notification if you screenshot their profile.
You have to realize that certain people will make these false claims in order to scare others and provoke some sort of reaction.
In the case of TikTok videos, these “reactions” result in more comments and views for the uploader. Simply put, they’re only doing it for attention.
So calm down. You can continue on with your crazy stalker ways as normal. Just don’t screenshot their profile or view them on the Snap Map.