How to view someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing.

This is a guide on how to view someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing.

In certain situations, this can be useful. For example, you might want to see what an ex is up to without causing any unnecessary drama. Or perhaps you are avoiding the person in question for some reason or another. Either way, it doesn’t really matter. I am not here to judge.

Typically, when you look at someone’s Snapchat story, your name or username will appear in their “viewed list”. However, there are ways of preventing this from happening.

Turn off your Internet, view the story and then delete the app cache.

Firstly, you will need to go to the “Stories” section and wait for a minute or two. This wait is important, as it gives Snapchat a chance to “pre-load” all of your friend’s stories.

After that, you will need to turn off your Internet. This can be achieved in two ways:

  1. Enabling “Airplane Mode” on your phone.
  2. Manually switching off both your WiFi and mobile data.

Once you have cut off the Internet connection to your phone, you can now look at the Snapchat story in question.

Now comes the important part. After you looked at that story, Snapchat could not send your “view” to its servers. In other words, it could not record it. This is because the app could not find an Internet connection.

As a result, Snapchat stored the “view” on your phone. Once your Internet connection comes back to life and Snapchat sees this “view”, it will proceed to send it to its server.

We do NOT want this to happen.

Therefore, we will need force Snapchat to close and then delete the app’s data. This can be done via the Settings on your phone. For example, on Android, you can search for the app in the Settings menu.

Clear Snapchat Data

The storage menu on Android allows you to wipe an app’s data.

In this case, we want to clear the app’s data. This will “reset” the app back to its original state. In other words, it will be as though we installed Snapchat for the first time. All databases and cache data will be wiped from the phone.

By doing this, we are removing our story view from the phone. Consequently, when Snapchat starts back up again, it will be unable to find our “view”.

Congratulations! You’ve just viewed someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing!

iPhone.

On the iPhone, you can do something similar. However, instead of clearing the cache, you will need to completely remove the app altogether. Then, simply go to the Apple App Store and install Snapchat again.

Foolproof method.

Although the above method will work if the steps are followed correctly, certain people will always have that “niggling” feeling that they didn’t do something right. That or they’re too anxious to attempt it in the first place.

If you want to be 100% certain that they will never find out that you viewed their Snapchat story, then you can follow the steps below:

  1. Enable “Airplane Mode” on your phone.
  2. View the Snapchat story in question.
  3. Delete the app from your phone.
  4. Disable “Airplane Mode”.
  5. Wait 24 hours before installing Snapchat again.

This method works because if the app isn’t on your phone, it can’t send requests back to Snapchat’s servers. Furthermore, if you wait 24 hours, then the story in question will expire and they will no longer be able to see who viewed it.

Hopefully, you found this guide useful. If you have any questions or comments to add, feel free to post them below!

Facebook Comments