The answer to this question is pretty straight-forward. As of 2023, TikTok does not show you who viewed your videos.
Furthermore, it will only show you users who looked at your TikTok profile if the both of you have the “profile view history” feature enabled (more on that further down).
If you have recently viewed someone’s video and are now worrying that they will find out, then relax. Take a chill pill. Firstly, there is no tool or feature that allows them to see this information. Secondly, any person or third-party app that tells you otherwise is lying.
Can you see who looked at your TikTok videos?
No. You cannot see who has viewed your TikTok videos.
TikTok will only show you who has commented on your video or liked it. Video views are only shown as an aggregated number. For example, “1139” or “12.3K”. Individual views are not accessible.
I know this because I have uploaded several videos to the app. This is what it looks like from the creator’s point of view.
The screenshot above shows you what it looks like from my perspective. In other words, this is what it looks like from the uploader’s point of view. As you can see, it pretty much looks the exact same as what a visitor would see if they were to view my TikTok profile. The only difference is that I can see my Drafts section.
Furthermore, the view count for each video is shown as one figure. i.e. There is no special option for me to see which users looked at it. There is no “viewers” option like you’d find on Instagram Stories.
Similarly, viewing the video directly also doesn’t provide such an option.
In the screenshot above, you can see that it looks exactly the same as what a viewer would see if they were to watch my video. The only difference is that I can modify the privacy settings or delete the video via the white dotted menu.
Can you see who looked at your TikTok page?
To see who viewed your profile, you will need to turn on the “profile view history” feature.
The drawback to this is that other people who have this feature enabled will also be able to see if you checked their profile.
Basically, for profile views to work, the feature needs to be enabled by both parties.
In other words, if you don’t have the option turned on, then nobody will be able to tell if you looked at their page or not.
Take the following examples.
- John looks at Sara’s page. However, John does not have the profile view option enabled. As a result, Sara will not know that he looked at her TikTok profile.
- The next day, Sara clicks onto John’s TikTok. However, because he never opted into the feature, he will not be able see her view.
As you can see, both parties must agree to share their viewing activity.
Personally speaking, I will not be turning this feature on. Furthermore, I would actively avoid clicking on anyone’s page if I knew that TikTok was going to record my visit.
This isn’t LinkedIn, my friend.
In conclusion, the answer is no. TikTok does not show you who has looked at your videos or your profile unless you allow it to.
This is by design. Such features are likely to create a negative user experience. In other words: Drama. And I think we can all agree that TikTok currently has enough drama as it is. There is no need for them to pour more gasoline onto the fire by allowing people to see who viewed what.