How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat.

This is a guide on how to tell if someone has blocked you on Snapchat.

A couple of years ago, I wrote an article on how to tell if someone deleted you off Snapchat. Writing that article was much easier, as I could give a definite answer to my readers. However, when it comes to figuring out if someone has blocked you or not, there is one major caveat that you need to understand: People can deactivate or delete their Snapchat accounts.

As a result, figuring all of this out can be a little bit trickier.

The person has disappeared from your Friend screen.

If the person’s name and chat history has disappeared from your Snapchat Friend screen, then it can only mean one of three things:

  1. They have deactivated their Snapchat account.
  2. You mistakenly pressed the Clear Conversation button and hid their messages. Unlikely, but still worth mentioning.
  3. They have blocked you.

To confirm that they can no longer be found on your Snapchat, you will need to search for their Snapchat username. If their profile has mysteriously disappeared, then Snapchat will return a blank “No results” page:

Snapchat - Blocked

A screenshot showing “No results” and a poop icon.

It is important to note that as of May, 2020, Snapchat users cannot change their usernames. In other words: If you’re searching for the correct username and their profile is still not showing in the search results, then it’s not because they’ve changed their username or anything.

How can I tell if they blocked me or deleted their Snapchat account?

The only sure-fire way to tell is to get one of your friends to check. If your friend can search for the person’s username and find them, but you can’t, then I’m sorry to say this but you have been blocked.

I’m very sorry you had to find out like this. Be sure to stick an F in the comments section below.

However, if your friend is also unable to find their profile, then the most reasonable explanation is that they have deactivated their account. The only exception to this rule is if the person in question was cunning enough to preemptively block your friend as well.

This isn’t as unlikely as you might think either. For instance: One woman I know reacted to a bad break-up by blocking her ex-boyfriend and his entire friend group. She even blocked his sister. And she didn’t just do it on Snapchat. She did it on Facebook and Instagram as well.

If there is a possibility that this person has “nuked” you and your entire friend group, then you will need to get somebody outside of your social circle to check. Preferably, somebody who the person in question doesn’t even know exists.

Why did they block me?

Sometimes, the reasons aren’t that obvious. For example: In one case, a guy blocked every woman that he had been romantically linked to in the past. Why? Because his girlfriend found out that he was still friends with girls that he had matched with on Tinder. She found out, started a huge argument about it and in the end, he caved and blocked them all.

All I can say is this: If it’s not immediately obvious to you why they blocked you on Snapchat, then try not to get too hung up about it. It’s probably for a reason that it outside of your control.

Why did they deactivate their account?

If they deactivated their Snapchat account instead of blocking you, it’s probably because of one of the following reasons:

  1. They got sick and tired of using the app.
  2. Somebody was stalking them or harassing them.
  3. They wanted to change to a better username.
  4. Their friend list had turned into a big huge mess. As a result, they decided to wipe the slate clean and start afresh.
  5. Their current account kept bringing up painful memories.
  6. They wanted to seem aloof and mysterious.

Who knows? Your guess is as good as mine.

If you have questions to ask or further comments to add, feel free to post them below.

Facebook Comments