This is a guide on how to tell if someone has deleted you as a friend on Snapchat.
For this article, we ran a number of tests using the latest 2022 version of the app.
If their Snapchat score is not showing on their profile, then they have deleted you as a friend.
The most obvious sign that someone has removed you as a friend from Snapchat is that their “Snap score” is no longer showing on their profile.
Take the following example.
This is a screenshot of a profile that I am friends with.
As you can see, both their score and their star sign are visible.
Furthermore, the app also displays options that allow me to snap them or call them.
Now, let’s take a look at the exact same profile after it removed me as a friend.
In the screenshot above, there are a number of glaring differences.
- We can no longer see their Snapchat score.
- Their Zodiac sign is missing.
- Instead of displaying options to snap them or call them, the app now shows a “suggested for you” section.
Your snaps are now “grey” and Pending.
The second sign that you have been deleted is that your snaps are grey and pending.
We sent a snap to the account above. After that, we told the person to remove us as a friend.
As a result, our message turned from blue/delivered to grey/pending.
If you click into the chat, you will also notice the following message.
What does “Other Snapchatters” mean?
If someone suddenly appears in the “Other Snapchatters” section of your story’s viewer list, then it means that they have deleted you.
In this case, they viewed your Snapchat story shortly before they decided to “give you the chop”.
Perhaps they didn’t like your story? Or maybe the two of you had a disagreement after they looked at it?
“I can’t see their score, but I can send still them snaps?”
If you can send them snaps, but you can’t see their score, then it still means that they have deleted you. That or they never added you back in the first place.
On Snapchat, there is a privacy setting that allows everyone to message you. If you change this setting to everyone, then “non-friends” will be able to send you snaps.
To make a long story short: If you can communicate with them, but their score is missing, then it is likely that they have this setting enabled.
In other words, their current privacy setting allows you, “a non-friend”, to communicate with them.
Other signs that they may have deleted you from Snapchat.
There are also a number of other signs that they may have deleted you.
- The “Friendships are Private” warning no longer shows on their profile.
- You will not be able to share your location with them.
- Likewise, you will be unable to request their location.
- The “Saved in Chat” section will be missing.
- Their stories suddenly begin to appear in your subscription section.
I can see their score, but they haven’t been looking at any of my stories?
If someone is “ignoring” your Snapchat stories, then it can mean one of four things.
- They muted your story.
- They haven’t been looking at people’s stories in general. Personally speaking, I have gone through periods where I was too busy, tired, or drained to check my friend’s stories.
- They are intentionally “skipping” over your story.
- It is also possible that they have created a new account and are no longer using the profile that you are currently friends with.
As you can see, none of this means that they have removed you.
Did they block me?
If you can see their profile, then it means that they did not block you. If someone blocks you, they will disappear from the app altogether. In other words, you will be unable to view their profile or search for them.
If they remove me, will they still be able to view my story?
Typically speaking, no. If they remove you, then they will not be able to view your story.
However, they will be able to view your story if you have the privacy setting for My Story set to “Everyone”. If your story is set to “Everyone”, then it basically means that “non-friends” can view it.
If they do happen to view your story, then they will appear at the bottom of the viewer list under “Other Snapchatters”.
Snapchat’s friend system doesn’t work like Facebook’s friend system.
At this stage, it is worth pointing out that Snapchat handles friend lists differently than Facebook.
If you add someone on Facebook, they have to accept your request before they show up on your friend list.
However, if you add someone on Snapchat, they will be immediately listed under your “My Friends” section, regardless of whether they have added you back or not.
If someone deletes you as a friend on Facebook, they will immediately disappear from your friend list. However, on Snapchat, if someone removes you, their profile will still appear in your chat section. You just won’t be able to send them snaps or view their story.