If a grey arrow and “Pending” is showing beside someone’s message on Snapchat, then it means that you are not friends with that person. In other words, they have probably removed you as a friend.
The only other “plausible” explanation is that they have deleted their Snapchat account.
This grey “Pending” status will appear after you attempt to send them a snap. It will look similar to the one shown in the image below.
Usually, when you are friends with someone, Snapchat will show snaps as “Delivered”. Furthermore, the arrow will be red or blue, depending on the type of snap you have sent.
However, if this arrow suddenly turns to grey, then it is likely that the person in question has deleted you off Snapchat.
Why is Pending showing on Snapchat even though I am still friends with the person?
Most likely, you are not still friends with this person. However, the app is still displaying their profile in your Chat list.
This is something that confuses a lot of people.
If someone is showing on your Snapchat “Chat” list, it does not necessarily mean that they are still friends with you.
By default, the chat list will display everyone that you have sent a friend request to. It will also show people who you previously interacted with.
In other words, non-friends will still appear on this list.
For example, there are people in my chat section that I haven’t been friends with for over three years. And they will remain there until I decide to remove them from my side.
Are you sure that they accepted your friend request in the first place?
Did you receive a notification from Snapchat telling you that this person added you back?
If not, then it is possible that they did not accept your request in the first place.
For instance, they may have originally had their Contact Me settings set to Everyone. This allowed you to send them snaps and interact with them. However, afterwards, they may have switched this setting back to My Friends only.
As a result, your snaps will now show as Pending.
The pending status can also appear if they have deleted their Snapchat account.
The grey arrow and pending status can also appear if they have deleted or deactivated their Snapchat account.
For example, you and this person regularly send snaps to each other. However, one day, they decide to delete their Snapchat account. As a result, any subsequent snaps will be “stuck” on “pending” until that person decides to reactivate their account.
Although it is possible that they have deleted their account, I am not going to lie to you. 9 times out of 10, it is usually because they have removed you from their friend list.
“Just like that, eh?”
Try not to let it get you down. Sometimes, people will delete you off social media for reasons that aren’t even directly related to you. Unfortunately, it is difficult to know what is going through someone else’s mind.
Check out some of our other Snapchat guides.
- How to tell if someone deleted you from Snapchat.
- What does the yellow heart mean on Snapchat?
- How to change your Snapchat username.
- How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat.